Meanwhile, here are my purchases from today's Bandcamp Friday:

Astral Flight — Astral Flight iceageproductions.bandcamp.com

CRYSTAL — Neo Age flau.bandcamp.com/album/neo-ag

Die Wilde Jagd — Die Wilde Jagd diewildejagd.bandcamp.com/albu

HUNGRY GHOSTS — Alone Alone and Hungry Ghosts LP hungry-ghosts.bandcamp.com

Miles Brown (The Night Terrors) — The Gateway thenightterrors.bandcamp.com/a

Not Drowning, Waving — Tabaran and Circus notdrowningwaving.bandcamp.com

Parenthesis... — Your Excellency / CATS HOME/DOGS HOME wiaiwya.bandcamp.com/album/you

Qluster — Echtzeit qluster.bandcamp.com/album/ech

Shinjuku Thief — Black Garden (Soundtrack) shinjukuthief.bandcamp.com/alb

The Foots — The Foots thefoots.bandcamp.com/album/th

The Radio Dept. — You're Lookin' at My Guy theradiodept.bandcamp.com/albu

Various Artists — Midnight Meditations (Chapter Music) chaptermusic.bandcamp.com/albu

Various Artists — Saving for a Custom Van (the songs of Adam Schlesinger) fatherdaughterrecords.bandcamp

Various Artists — To Yemen With Love الى اليمن بكل... banabila.bandcamp.com/album/to

Once again, it's Bandcamp Friday, when Bandcamp pass on 100% of revenue to artists/labels for a day. As such, here are a few recommendations from my recent purchases:

Heavy Sunrise — We Are Weightless
heavysunrise.com/album/we-are-
Granular ambient drone, from the former guitarist of 90s US shoegazers Alison's Halo; a lot more ethereal, though.

Laura MacFarlane — Into The Metalude lauramacfarlane.bandcamp.com/a
Solo vocals and vibraphone, recorded at home; a bit jazzier and more introspective than her work with Ninetynine.

Mighty Duke And The Lords — Caribbean Rollerama
mightydukeandthelords.bandcamp
Funky party-rocking grooves with clever wit and a tight brass section. I bought this a while ago, but hearing that the titular outer-suburban roller rink is closing down made me put it on again.

Not Drowning, Waving — Another Pond
notdrowningwaving.bandcamp.com
Their 1984 debut album, expanded and remastered; probably their most immediately new-wavey work, which in a parallel universe wouldn't have been out of place on 4AD.

Sons Of Kemet — Lest We Forget What We Came Here To Do
sonsofkemet.bandcamp.com/album
Propulsively rhythmic dub-jazz from the London group

Die Wilde Jagd - Haut
diewildejagd.bandcamp.com/albu
Krautrock meets electronica; somewhere between Faust and a less grimdark Teeth Of The Sea.

Currently listening to the remastered/extended version of Not Drowning, Waving’s 1984 debut album “Another Pond”, recently released on Bandcamp, for the first time, hitherto having only heard the 1990 CD: notdrowningwaving.bandcamp.com

Not sure how I feel about the completely different track order; some of the formerly missing tracks such as “Moving Around” hint at David Bridie’s long-lost gothic-rock period. As, one could say, does the band name.

Legendary Australian ambient/art-rock band Not Drowning, Waving have finally put all their albums up on Bandcamp; and they appear to be considerably extended from the old CDs you might have.

notdrowningwaving.bandcamp.com

I recommend Another Pond as a good place to start; if you like Brian Eno and/or This Mortal Coil, you might also like it.

Sad to hear that Alex Taylor, the singer from the C86 band The Shop Assistants, has passed away:

louderthanwar.com/alex-taylor-

And here are my purchases from today's Bandcamp fee jubilee:

Article 54 - Stayin' Alive article54.bandcamp.com/album/s
Baseball - The Ocean Is Blue And Green (songs of travel, loss and hope) baseballkingdom.bandcamp.com/a
Ben Frost - Steelwound room40.bandcamp.com/album/stee
Blood Orange - Negro Swan bloodorangenyc.bandcamp.com/al
The Bran Flakes - I'm So Glad To See You branflakes.bandcamp.com/track/
DaM-FunK - DJ-Kicks (DaM-FunK) dam-funk.bandcamp.com/album/dj
DJ Downfall - Sounds Of The 20th Century E.P. wiaiwya.bandcamp.com/album/sou
DRMNGNOW - Australia Does Not Exist ft Kee'ahn drmngnow.bandcamp.com/track/au
Francis Plagne - Tenth Volume Of Maps lostandlonesome.bandcamp.com/a
Hieroglyphic Being, Sarathy Korwar & Shabaka Hutchings - A.R.E. Project hieroglyphicbeing.bandcamp.com
Hieroglyphic Being - The Fourth Dimensions Of A Nubian Mystic hieroglyphicbeing.bandcamp.com
Laura MacFarlane - Into The Metalude lauramacfarlane.bandcamp.com/a
The Lucksmiths - First Tape thelucksmiths.bandcamp.com/alb
Moses Sumney - græ mosessumney.bandcamp.com/album
Mythologen - HNRLP009: Mythologen hoganordrekords.bandcamp.com/a
Penny Orchids - Return to Rattlesnake Speedway pennyorchids.bandcamp.com/trac
Slikback - Lasakaneku hakunakulala.bandcamp.com/albu
Spunsugar - Happier Happyless spunsugar.bandcamp.com/track/h
The Sugargliders - We're All Trying To Get There thesugargliders.bandcamp.com/a
Various Artists - From Our Corners eastcapecalling.bandcamp.com/a
Various Artists - Live at The Windmill windmillbrixton.bandcamp.com/a
Various Artists - TOTAL SOLIDARITY - benefit compilation for grassroot LGBTQIA organizations in Poland oramicspl.bandcamp.com/album/t
Vektroid - Vektroid Texture Maps vektroid.bandcamp.com/album/ve
Waak Waak Djungi - Waak Waak ga Min Min efficientspace.bandcamp.com/al
Whirlywirld - Complete Discography 1978-80 hozacrecords.bandcamp.com/albu

Some lovely shoegazing from London instrumentalist/composer Soliloquy, in the intermission of this video from the Daylight Music gigs: youtu.be/JmwRYA-van8?t=3182

Spike Jonze’s “Beastie Boys Story” comes off as a missed opportunity in Christos Tsiolkas’ review:

thesaturdaypaper.com.au/cultur

Today, Bandcamp are waiving their fees to help artists, so it's a good day to go on a buying spree. Here's what I've bought:

Cable Ties, “Far Enough” cableties.bandcamp.com/album/f

Carpenter Brut, “BLOOD MACHINES OST” carpenterbrut.bandcamp.com/alb

Chorusgirl, Debut Album chorusgirl.bandcamp.com/album/

Coach Station Reunion, “Couldn't Feel Safer” coachstationreunion.bandcamp.c

Coach Station Reunion, “Lost Album” coachstationreunion.bandcamp.c

datassette, “Datassette” datassette.bandcamp.com/album/

datassette, VOID FILL PRODUCT datassette.bandcamp.com/album/

dj newtown, “WEST MEMBERS” hihattjp.bandcamp.com/album/we

Elsa Hewitt, “Citrus Paradisi” elsahewitt.bandcamp.com/album/

Guggi Data, “Pop/Rock” luxuryrecords.bandcamp.com/alb

HTRK, “Marry Me Tonight” htrk.bandcamp.com/album/marry-

Iggy Pop, “Family Affair” single iggypop.bandcamp.com/track/fam

Jon Brooks, “How To Get To Spring” cafekaput.bandcamp.com/album/h

Jon Brooks, “No wave is ever the same.” cafekaput.bandcamp.com/album/n

Pikelet, “Chair + Lamp” evelynmorris.bandcamp.com/albu

Popolice, “Invisible” popolice.bandcamp.com/album/in

Popolice, “Middle Ground (2019 Remix)” popolice.bandcamp.com/album/mi

PROTODOME, “FAMIFOOD” protodome.bandcamp.com/album/f

raven, “in a cold cottage, in the dirt, in outer space” raven.bandcamp.com/album/in-a-

raven, “in & out of fashion” raven.bandcamp.com/album/in-ou

Rev Magnetic, “Versus Universe” revmagnetic.bandcamp.com/album

Revolutionary Army of the Infant Jesus, “Songs of Yearning” revolutionaryarmyoftheinfantje

The Autobahn of Life, “Trains Below The City” wiaiwya.bandcamp.com/album/tra
The Magnetic North, “Orkney: Symphony Of The Magnetic North” themagneticnorth.bandcamp.com/

The Magnetic North, “Prospect of Skelmersdale” themagneticnorth.bandcamp.com/

The Magnetic North, “Rackwick” themagneticnorth.bandcamp.com/

The Mystery Fax Machine Orchestra, “The Hero's Journey” themysteryfaxmachineorchestra.

Thor Harris, “Doom Dub” thorharris.bandcamp.com/album/

Various Artists, “Kill Yr. Idols” (Chapter Music) chaptermusic.bandcamp.com/albu

Various Artists, “In Order To Care” (R&S Records; NHS PPE fundraiser) randsrecords.bandcamp.com/albu

Wedding Guns, “Blood in Everyone's Type” weddingguns.bandcamp.com/album

Windy & Carl, “Akimatsuri” windyandcarl.bandcamp.com/albu

Interesting Bandcamp Daily article about the current state of Spanish leftfield pop music; includes a number of Elefant acts familiar to Indietracks attendees:

daily.bandcamp.com/lists/spani

An interesting essay on the politics and aesthetics of Brexit-era British boomer resentment as seen through the writings of Morrissey, by Owen Hatherley:

versobooks.com/blogs/4634-stop

Robin Sloan, “An Integration Loop”, or building on William Basinski’s Disintegration Loops with a sample-oriented generative neural network and a lot of judicious editing:

robinsloan.com/notes/integrati

An interesting essay examining Broadcast’s “The Noise Made By People” (now 20 years old) as a turning point in what “psychedelia” meant, from Britpop-adjacent 60s shagadelic kitsch to the present world of Ballardian/Scarfolkian hauntology:

stereogum.com/2075708/broadcas

Bandcamp has an interesting list of some of the more esoteric releases on Jello Biafra’s Alternative Tentacles label:
daily.bandcamp.com/label-profi

Though there’s one minor mistake: Wesley Willis didn’t use a Casiotone keyboard; he used a Solton Ketron.

Show more
Liner Notes Club

A friendly place in the fediverse for discussing music recordings. Learn more here!